Finding Bronwen: Finding myself one Bronwen-size step at a time.

A step towards London, a step in the right direction

My Auntie celebrated her birthday in style this weekend. She stayed at a Hilton hotel near Tower Bridge. She spent three days and two nights enjoying drinking Champagne, dining at a medieval banquet, sightseeing (stopping in her tracks to take photos as only a true tourist does) and laughing hysterically at the comedians performing in The Comedy Store.

I jumped on the train to join her yesterday with no idea what to expect. I’d been shopping in London before, I’d been almost everywhere a tourist should go and seen almost everything they should see and I’d been to a couple of London Night Clubs. I’d never stayed in a London hotel or been to a comedy store. I was feeling nervous about leaving home and going to University and all I really wanted to do was start getting organised then curl up in pyjamas and watch a feel good movie.

I had a great weekend. Some people would say that when you’re among the commuters of the rush hour the atmosphere in London is hostile and unkind, but when ever I’ve been to London I’ve found that to be a part of the hustle and bustle of such an incredible city is exhilarating. I’ve come back from London feeling like I could conquer the world if I wanted to.

The hotel was incredible. The sky lounge sold expensive drinks, provided sophisticated company and had the most amazing view, a view that was even more amazing at night. The comedians we saw at The Comedy Store were, as my ticket told me they would be, ‘The Best in Stand-Up’. I am not saying that they were better than Michael McIntyre, who in my opinion is the most hilarious man on Earth, but they were very almost as good as him. They may not be famous just yet, but it wouldn’t surprise me if some time soon they appeared on my television screen.

We woke up for breakfast today and despite being the most unhealthy person I know, the buffet looked so good that I helped myself to a bowl of fruit, granola and yoghurt after finishing my full English. We walked across the Tower Bridge walk way this morning and then headed to a pub for drinks before heading home.

Not only has this weekend left me feeling like I could go back to University today (if it weren’t for the four hour journey and the ridiculous amount of packing still to be done), but while standing on Tower Bridge looking out on the river I couldn’t help imagining myself at music college there in two or three years time.

For now at least, I’m heading in the right direction: I’m feeling positive and loving my mum for having just made an amazing roast dinner. Here’s hoping my Auntie enjoyed her weekend as much as I did.

One thought on “A step towards London, a step in the right direction

Leave a Reply

