Chapter Two: It's not the end of the world

Musn’t Grumble

Recap: In my last post I was feeling great. I was back on the singing band wagon and I was happily busy and I was all set to go off and conquer life. Ironically, the day after I published my last post I was hit by a cold that came with a nasty sore throat and had to refrain from singing for a few days.

I couldn’t sing, but I did keep busy as ever. I managed to do another few days work in a school and volunteer with the Alzheimer’s Society for a day too. I spent a beautiful afternoon in the sun with Dave. I also went along to my fitness class as per usual. Middle of the day on Saturday, two of my best friends turned up on my doorstep dressed for a day in the sun. We decided to head to Tesco for BBQ food. The weather was amazing last weekend and we had the best of days. I’m actually smiling just writing about it.27dd8f73bccfd8085a3ec425a641004783ae4f9f_full

This week’s been exhausting. In fact, if I’d tried to write this post a couple of days ago I’m sure I just would have grumbled about being tired and feeling anxious and about the gloomy weather forecast for the weekend. The positivity that oozed from my last post would have been non-existent. I’d have never imagined that I could feel as optimistic as I do now.

Start of this week, I got what I think was food poisoning, which kind of stopped me in my tracks all together. I was just getting back on my feet after the cold, I’d enjoyed another busy week and then one of life’s lemons came flying out of nowhere. Musn’t grumble now though… Once I’d regained my strength I did three days work in another school! AND they would like to hire me on an ongoing basis! It’s been challenging so far, but I’ve actually really enjoyed it too. I’m gaining valuable experience and working with an amazing team of people. The school is for pupils with challenging behaviours and statements of Special Educational Needs and the more time I spend there, the more I think I might have to stick around. I found it particularly hard this week, because I don’t think I ever properly got over being ill. This weekend I’ve done nothing but chill and touch wood I think it’s done the trick.

largeI’m really excited about the few weeks ahead. In fact, I’m beginning to believe that when, on New Years Day, I said I thought 2016 was going to be my year, I just might have been right. I know that’s a big leap considering, but I feel good. I’m busy, I’m singing again AND working in schools so far has been really fulfilling. I’m finally beginning to take things in my stride. The butterflies have been around more than ever, but they haven’t stopped me taking each day as it comes. I kind of see what they mean when they say the world is my oyster.

I think I’m beginning to work out what kind of life I want to lead and just in time for my 22nd birthday. One week to go and I’m just beginning to get a little excited. It’ll be my first birthday celebrated at home in 4 years and it’s on a Sunday. I couldn’t be more chuffed.

So here we go again. Here’s hoping that this time next week there’ll be nothing worth moaning about. Going to get an early night tonight and hit the ground running tomorrow. BRING IT ON.

Leave a Reply

