More from me

Why the good people in this world need to stick together

I’ve got the most horrid cough at the moment and yesterday I felt miserable and helpless because the doctor’s surgery was closed and I knew I wouldn’t have time for an appointment this week. My dad suggested I head to the pharmacy and chat to them. I was dubious because the last time I took a friend to a pharmacy the man behind the counter was anything but helpful. However, I spoke to a lovely lady, who went above and beyond to make me feel better and give me the best advice she could. I drove home beaming because not only had she made me feel like I could see this cough through, she’d reminded me that there are still lots of good people in this world.

I don’t know about you, but it seems like every time I nearly give up on humanity all together, someone or something restores my faith. What with England fans acting horrendously at the Euros in France, with politicians lying left, right and center in the wake of the EU referendum, with talented young musicians being shot down at concerts (need I go on?) it’s hard to keep the faith. However, whether I come across a video on youtube of someone doing something good, I hear that a celebrity has made a massive contribution to charity, I watch someone help an elderly man cross the road, or someone does something good for me, there are times when I’m reminded we’re not all bad.

I went into that pharmacy yesterday feeling miserable and grumpy and the women behind the counter turned my frown upside down. I think what’s important is that if it had been the other way round, I hope that I’d of been friendly enough to turn her day around.

My point is that good people need to restore the faith of good people. Good people need to stick together. If I’m preaching to the converted then good! Keep up the good work. Keep making conversation with the person stood behind the till in your corner shop, keep returning the smile when you catch a strangers eye in a shop or on a train, always be lovely to your hardworking waiter or waitress and don’t be scared to jump in when people around you need your help.

I know it’s hard, but let’s expect the best from each other and let’s not let it set us back when the best isn’t what we get. If you’ve been let down by the people around you more times than you can count and if you’ve witnessed first hand the poverty and the horridness that I only hear about on the news, you might not even be reading this because you might have closed the page already. If you are reading you’re probably rolling your eyes and smiling at my naivety.

Let’s stop acting like it’s naive to be optimistic because yes, sometimes being optimistic leaves you looking and feeling like a fool, but sometimes it pays off. Nine times out of ten, you’ll smile at a complete stranger and they’ll smile right back. That’s what counts. 

I promise there’s a post coming some time this week with an actual update on my life. If I’m honest, I’ve been putting it off because I’m not sure where to start. All is good though, don’t panic! Just watch this space.

Leave a Reply

